Growth Strategy: #34 Love Languages

Growth Strategy: #34 Love Languages

Good for: Helping you to understand how you and a partner feel loved in relationships

Best completed by: You, you and your partner

The book love languages is about the different ways people express and receive love. Everyone has a primary love language that they use to express themselves and feel loved. People also have a secondary love language that they use to receive love. Knowing your own love language and the love language of your partner can help you to better understand and communicate with each other.

The book love languages was written by Dr. Gary Chapman and was published in 1992. It has sold over 10 million copies and has been translated into 50 different languages. The book has helped people all over the world to better understand themselves and their loved ones. If you are looking for a way to improve your relationships, then this book is definitely worth reading.

There are five love languages:

Words of affirmation

This involves using words to build up and encourage your partner. If this is your love language, you likely feel appreciated when your partner praises you or expresses their affection through kind words. For example, you might feel loved when your partner texts you to say they’re thinking of you, or when they tell you how proud they are of your achievements. If words of affirmation is your partner’s love language, it’s important to take the time to express your affection in this way. A few thoughtful words can make a big difference in their day-to-day happiness.

Quality time

This is about giving someone your undivided attention. This can mean taking a walk together, having a conversation, or simply spending time together in silence. It's important to remember that quality time doesn't necessarily have to involve doing something - it's the simple act of being together that matters.  

When quality time is given, it communicates love, acceptance, and intimacy. It's an important love language for many people, and it's a great way to show your partner that you care. If you're not sure how to show your partner love in this way, start by spending more time together doing things that you both enjoy. Make an effort to be fully present when you're with them, and really listen to what they have to say.

Receiving gifts

For some people, receiving gifts is their primary love language. They feel loved when their partner takes the time to pick out a thoughtful present. This love language is all about the thoughtfulness and meaning behind the gift, rather than the actual price tag. If your partner's primary love language is receiving gifts, then it's important to put some thought into your presents. A small gesture like a hand-picked flower or a homemade card can mean more to them than an expensive gift.

For many joy comes from receiving a thoughtful gift, and giving can be just as important as receiving. After all, gifts are a way of expressing our love and appreciation for our partner. They show that we are thinking of them and that we want to make them happy. Whether it's a small token or a grand gesture, giving gifts is one of the simplest ways to show your partner how much you care.

Acts of service

When your partner's love language is acts of service, it means they feel loved when you do things to help them out, such as taking care of chores or running errands. It's not about grand gestures, but rather the small things that show you're paying attention and want to make their life easier. If your partner's love language is acts of service, be sure to lend a hand whenever you can, and don't forget the little things that mean so much to them.  

No matter what form they take, acts of service are a way of showing that we care about our partner and are willing to take care of their needs.  When we make the effort to do something nice for our partner, we are sending the message that they are valuable to us and that we want to make their life as easy and enjoyable as possible. In turn, acts of service help to build trust and intimacy in a relationship, creating a strong foundation for lasting love.

Physical touch

The physical touch love language is all about quality time and physical affection. It is about having your partner present and being physically affectionate with them. This can include things like holding hands, cuddling, hugging, and kissing. For people with this love language, physical touch is a way to feel connected to their partner and to show their love for them. In the book, physical touch is described as a love language that is essential for “maintaining intimacy and connection in a relationship.”

If you have this love language, it is important to express your need for physical affection to your partner. You may also want to consider ways to increase the amount of physical touch in your relationship, such as taking a dance class together or getting massages.

If you're not sure what love language your partner speaks, try paying attention to the way they express love to you. Chances are, they're speaking their own love language back to you. By understanding the different love languages, you can find ways to express your love in a way that will be truly meaningful to your partner.


Have a great week!

Dionne xxx ✨

PS. Check out my online journal, where you can get more clear focused productive by answering thought-provoking questions to know and grow yourself.  Get your 14 day free trial and you can cancel anytime - sign up here.

🚀 Wondering how productive you are and ways to get better at getting things done?  I created a way to test your productivity and receive a detailed report and tips to help you improve.  Get it here

💖Share the love with someone who could benefit from the strategies and ideas on this page.